The Wife, A Bodyguard & Cathy Dennis

It’s Monday morning and I may have a sore head – not caused by the above, but definitely fuelled by it.

The Wife

The wife made a surprise appearance last night and was on fine form, apart from declaring that emptying the bin was a pink job and that he didn’t do that kind of thing.

That will be changing, lazy arse that he can be.

He also said something yesterday that I knew was true, but he would never admit normally. He’s bloody good at what he does work-wise and really knows his stuff.

Don’t tell him I said that. He doesn’t read this I don’t think, so we’re all fine there.

Oh, and for those who don’t know the real story. He’s not really my wife, or my lover (just in case you are in love with me – you still have a chance!) – but someone who I can quite honestly say is one of the greatest friends I could ever ask for. We’re very good for each other and that’s a very nice thing. And no, I don’t fancy him, which I’m sure he would be devastated to read (not!), but he will be emptying the bin in future when he’s here.

And he excelled at YouTube DJ’ing last night, which tends to become our “night in” entertainment aided by some beer, cider and wine. His brother (who is a DJ) should watch out,  apart from trying to slip in Tiffany* he put on some classic tunes.

*Not literally, but probably in his dreams at some point.


Bodyguard

Brilliant. Watch. It’s the new Night Manager as far as I’m concerned. And he’s very hot.

 

I’ve tweeted Jed Mercurio, who wrote it and the actor Richard Madden who plays the bodyguard to say thank you for such fine work.

Whilst obviously I’m hoping that Richard reads my “Brilliant” comment and falls in love me (don’t tell my wife or his string of girlfriends please), I think in this world of “likes” and “shares” which just cause ego and anxiety, that this is something so much nicer to do and hopefully mean something special to them.


Cathy Dennis

ea5873e2b4ae7ae96f5d5b522b6981ba.875x900x1.jpg

As I’ve already mentioned, last night became a traditional “Saturday night in with Chris” event. On a Sunday!

Two hours’ish of us singing along and me busting a few moves to pop videos. All carefully curated (sometimes argued about) from the comfort of the sofa.

Whilst I’m very vocal about my love for Nile Rodgers (will get around to writing my “thoughts” down on him soon), there is someone else that deserves a mention.

Cathy Dennis might have started off being a pop-star, but soon learnt that she preferred writing big hits. And just like Nile Rodgers, she knows the magic formula.

You can discover the long list of songs that Cathy Dennis has written here. It includes 8 UK Number 1’s, 5 Ivor Novello awards for song-writing (George Michael won six to put it in perspective) and has written some of Kylie’s, Britney’s and Katy Perry’s biggest hits. And most of 7-Club 7 songs too!

I’d suggest it’s 30% of the music played on a Saturday night. Good Times indeed.

Let’s do it!